Bangabasi College

Bangabasi College

Affiliated to the University of Calcutta
Applied for NAAC Re-Accreditation, 2017 (2nd Cycle)

Seminars & Workshops

Department of Physics

Department of Physics, Bangabasi College had conducted the following workshops very recently:
1. "Integrated PhD interviews in Physics-A positive march towards a research career " on 16th May 2016 Monday, at the Acharya P.K. Bose Memorial Auditorium Hall. It was funded by the College and received tremendous response from students from all over the city.The speakers were
a) Prof. Rabin Banerjee, SNBNCBS Kolkata
b) Prof. Pushan Majumdar, IACS, Kolkata
c) Prof. Narayan Bandopadhyay, IISER Kolkata
d) Prof. Amal Das, IIT-Kharagpur.

2. "C.K. Majumdar Memorial Experimental Physics Workshop" in collaboration with Indian Association of Physics Teachers, IAPT, Regional Council - 15, from 22nd till 24th December 2016, for first year Physics Honours students. Participation was enthusiastic from this college as well as from other colleges. Innovative experiments were demonstrated by IAPT members and performed by students themselves. The students on the second day, were addressed by eminent high energy physicist, Prof. Sukalyan Chattopadhyaya of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata. His motivating lecture was highly appreciated by students.

3. "Pre-Master's Workshop in Theoretical Physics, Cycle - I", for outgoing final year students, was funded by the College and was held from 15th till 19th May' 2017. The resource persons consisted of :
a) Prof. Partha Ghosh, HOD Physics, Bangabasi College
b) Prof. Saugata Bhattacharyya, Vidyasagar College
c) Prof. Arabinda Choudhury, S.A. Jaipuria College
d) Prof. Joydip Mitra, Scottish Church College
e) Prof. Sk. Jahiruddin, Sister Nivedita College for Girls
f) Prof. Suman Chowdhury, Bangabasi College
It was a high demand on behalf of the participants that the tenure of the workshop should be longer and the next cycles should follow soon.